top of page

Sephora Won't Save You From Hellfire


Finally Friday. The week seems to be unusually long while my thoughts are being chasing me every while, bringing me those "21st century Hijab" photos from social networks.

I couldn't sleep till late again last night. There is something that doesn't give me a peace of mind. It keeps running after me and bringing me a question: " How are we going to see God"?

I shared this "something " with my friend. I know she would understand. She always does. It made me feel a bit better knowing that I am not all wrong.

I have never been fan of social networks, but somehow Instagram happens to be the most attractive to me. Scrolling down through all fresh feeds, haven't found anything new. Again same photos. So called Hijabis, with a piece of something on their heads. They call it "Hijab" and it gets me ponder over a thousand things. I keep scrolling. Oh, there is a new video being released, again by famous Hijabi, showing how to not look yourself with new Fenty Beauty Make up collection by Rihanna.

Wow! That looks stunning. Painting yourself that way, spending hundreds of dollars on excessive make up that you are going to wash away tonight when you get back home. How about donating few cents to kids of Rohignya instead of buying the latest eye shadows palette from Sephora?! Or maybe even something better! Have you thought of asking your hundreds of thousands of fans to make a small donation and help millions of Muslims around the world who need the help of those who have more?!

No, you didn't have time to stop and think over it. You were busy with showing off to your fans, to collecting likes and comments: "Beauty!", " You are my idol!".

I hope you remember that when you stand in front of Allah, no one is going to care about the number of followers you had or the number of likes you got on your latest video. Your fans are not even going to look at you. You won't even think about making new YouTube video and show how to paint yourself while deluding thousands, millions of Muslim youths and creating their identity. Teaching them that real beauty comes from outside, from Sephora and Mac studios.

We Muslims, have come to the bottom. The bottom of all rational things and the deep ignorance of understanding Qur'an and what has been prescribed by the Prophet (pbuh).

We have come to the point where every comment to save this Ummah has become "judgemental", where every try to point what is right and what is wrong has become: " But, there is another opinion on that."

"I live in the West. It's difficult for me to cover my neck. People will judge me!"

But you don't care about His judgment.

Remember that being a Muslim, your responsibility is to remind your sisters and brothers what is Haram and what not, doesn't matter if they see this as judgemental. You know your duty. Remind them that Hijab is not tight jeans nor a short shirt with a patch on the head showing a half of your just coloured hair.

We Muslims got used to always be victims and judged by others.

"Oh, Muslims are terrorists." And we are going to be seen as terrorist and extremists as long as our Muslim bloggers the highest priority is to get as much as possible followers in Instagram while our sisters and brothers in Rohignya, Syria and Palestine are weeping for help,

for someone to remember them just in a dua.

We Muslims are being so ungrateful while His mercy remains.

Oh Muslims, wake up. If you can make someone think that excessive make is acceptable and that a little patch on your head is called Hijab, then you can do something that is right too. You can change the state Ummah lives in. You can save Muslims around the world and let the world see the real face of us.

Show the real beauty of Islam, instead of showing your latest make up palettes and new patches from Zara.


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
bottom of page